What are Advanced Filter Permissions
Heads up: This feature is in beta.
Please contact your account manager if you'd like to have it enabled on your account.
Advanced Filter Permissions enable you to restrict the data that a person is able to see, using the same filter configuration that is used to filter reports and measures. This means that, for example, you can restrict people to see only data about a particular date range, set of activities, and/or set of verbs.
Giving a User Advanced Filter Permissions
- Go to the Your Organization section of the Settings page:
- Using the picker or the search bar, find the person you're looking to give data permissions to. The Your Organization page shows all learners (not just users). You're able to set permissions for people even if they don't have Watershed access yet. In the example below, we're searching for Sanda Broyles to give her data permissions:
- On the person's page, in the Data Permissions section, under Advanced filter permissions, click the Add Filter button:
- Add an Advanced Configuration filter in the Filter box and click Save.
Hint: Use Report Builder to create and test the filter configuration before applying it to people.
How do Advanced Filter Permissions Work with Other Data Permissions?
While Group View Permissions grant users access to data, Advanced Filter Permissions restrict access to data. In other words, giving a person Advanced Filter Permissions will never allow a person to see data that they couldn't see without that permission, but the Advanced Filter Permissions might restrict the person from seeing data that they would have otherwise seen. Conversely, granting Group View Permissions will only ever allow the person to see more data, and granting a Group View Permission will never restrict the data that a person can view.
To help explain, consider the diagram below. The two circles on the right represent Group View Permissions. Multiple Group View Permissions might overlap, and the person will see all data represented by any of the Group View Permissions they have.
The circles on the right represent a Group View Permission and an Advanced Filter Permission. In this case, because Advanced Filter Permissions restrict what a person can see, now they only see data represented by both the Group View Permission, and the Advanced Filter Permission - i.e. the overlap between the two circles in the diagram.
This means that Advanced Filter Permissions are normally used in conjunction with Group View Permissions. The Group View Permissions grant the person access to see all data relating to a particular group or set of groups, and then the Advanced Filter Permissions restrict the data that can be viewed to only some of the data about that group or set of groups.
When multiple Advanced Filter Permissions are applied to a person, they each restrict the data visible to the Person. So, for example, if one Advanced Filter Permission restricts the Person to only seeing data using the verb 'completed', and another restricts the Person to only seeing data from the last five days, they will only see data using the verb 'completed' from the last five days and nothing else. This is the same as if a single 'and' filter combining the two filters were used.